News Tips

Genesee, Wyoming and Orleans are among dozens in New York that have been declared natural disaster areas after this summer’s drought damaged crops.

Farmers in the affected counties are eligible to apply for low-interest emergency disaster loans to mitigate cash flow problems that occurred after crops were lost.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 29 counties, including Orleans and Wyoming, as “primary natural disaster areas.” An additional 21 counties – including Genesee – have been declared “contiguous counties.”

Farmers in the 50 eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for assistance.

Actions: E-mail | Bookmark and Share
  |  Login