News Tips
Lawley Gif

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has declared some Western New York counties as disaster areas.

Genesee, Orleans, Wyoming, Erie and MonroeCounties were among the many named by the USDA that are now eligible to receive federal reembursment for crops destroyed by the freezing temperatures in March.

Assemblyman Steve Hawley said he is very happy to hear news.

"We're very pleased. Agriculture is of prominent stature economically speaking within my Assembly District, this will not replace the crops that were lost, but it will certianly help those that were involved in production of the fruits that were damaged," said Hawley. 

Hawley recently helped author a letter to the Governor asking to declare Genesee and some surrounding counties as disaster areas.  

Hawley said anyone who wants to know how they can receive disaster relief funds for their farm can call his Albion District Office at 585-589-5780 or his Albany Office at 518-455-5811 for more information. 


Actions: E-mail | Bookmark and Share
Sterling Tents
  |  Login